Hindemith Price

Monday  26 August  2019  7:00 PM    Monday  26 August  2019 9:00 PM
Save Saved
Last update 27/08/2019

Works by Hindemith, Aigerim Seilova and Clara Iannotta
The Hindemith Prize has been awarded every year since 1990 as part of the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival. The prize is intended to promote outstanding contemporary composers. The award also commemorates the music education work of Paul Hindemith, who wrote the composition "Plöner Musiktag" in 1932 on behalf of the boarding school Staatliche Bildungsanstalt Plön. Among others, past recipients include Olga Neuwirth, Matthias Pintscher, Thomas Adès, Jörg Widmann, Lera Auerbach, Johannes Maria Staud, Bernd Richard Deutsch, David Philip Hefti, Anna Clyne (2016), Samy Moussa (2017), and Clara Iannotta (2018). The winner of the award also receives a commission from the SHMF to compose a new work to be premiered at the following year’s festival. This is how Clara Iannotta’s new work for string quartet came to be on the schedule for this evening. In 2019, the prestigious award goes to Kazakh native Aigerim Seilova, who studied composition at the Moscow Conservatory under Leonid Bobylev and Yuri Kasparov, as well as multimedia composition at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg under Georg Hajdu. She lives in Hamburg.
The prize money of 20,000 Euros and the musical arrangement is given by the Hindemith-Stiftung (Blonay/Schweiz), by three Hamburg-based foundations: Rudolf und Erika Koch-Stiftung, Walther und Käthe Busche-Stiftung and Gerhard Trede-Stiftung as well as by the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the State of Schleswig-Holstein.

Nearby hotels and apartments
Büdelsdorf, ACO Wagenremise
Vorwerksallee 3, Büdelsdorf
Büdelsdorf, ACO Wagenremise
Vorwerksallee 3, Büdelsdorf
Event from shmf.de